Using OS.js libraries in iframe application - how load them?

I’m new to OS.js and I’m picking up some existing code, having a few issues, some are my lack of knoweldge some are intricacies of the existing code.

My objective is to create a new IFrame Application that uses the OS.js settings capability. For that I assume that I need to load the OS.js libraries. I see in the existing code a similar need. so in their index.html they have

... loads more before this
</div>

<script src="osjs.js"></script>
  <script src="src/js/appcode.js"></script>
</body>
</html>

Now I see on osjs.js a line of code

window.OSjs = (function() {

which I was guessing implies that the DOM needs to be ready before osjs.js can run. And bingo, when I specify

node osjs watch --debug --package=mine/Applciation
… etc … /osjs.js:35
window.OSjs = (function() {
^

ReferenceError: window is not defined
at /home/davea/projects/Unity_Console/overlays/unity/packages/unity/UnityLogViewer/data/osjs.js:35:3
at Object. (/home/davea/projects/Unity_Console/overlays/unity/packages/unity/UnityLogViewer/data/osjs.js:

Despite this the existing application is running! Somehow they avoid this race (would love to know why it works, but that’s no my real question)

So, questions:

• What’s the official way, if any, of loading those OS.js libraries? Far as I can see, we should be doing it once the DOM is ready.

• Assuming I can load the libraries is the full API available to the IFrame App?

Hi,

The IFrame applications were originally made to load external content, or re-package existing webapps to OS.js applications.

To use the OS.js functionality inside the iframe you can do messaging between your iframe and the window (which is OS.js). An iframe is basically a separate instance, so if you load the osjs.js file, you’ll basically create another OS.js instance, since that contains all the bootstrapping etc.

Seems like you’re on v2… I might have some examples for this lying around. I’ll look.